top of page

Loading Video . . .

Composer and audio illustrator James Newman created this rich audio landscape in response to Zechariah 14 and Zechariah 12:10.

Zechariah 14

Zechariah 12:10

Jacob's Lament


James Newman


Composer: James Newman
Performed by James Newman Cinematic Orchestra

Curated by: 

Jonathon Roberts


Image by Giorgio Trovato

Primary Scripture

Loading primary passage...

Loading Passage Reference...

Audio illustrator James Newman and the James Newman Cinematic Orchestra are pleased to present "Jacob's Lament". This piece was composed as an artistic musical reflection over Jerusalem and Israel based on events found in Zechariah 14.

Though this piece is a mournful lament for these events, it also reflects that which is spoken in Zechariah 12:10: "I will pour out on the house of David and on the inhabitants of Jerusalem, the Spirit of grace and of supplication, so that they will look on Me whom they have pierced; and they will mourn for Him, as one mourns for an only son, and they will weep bitterly over Him like the bitter weeping over a firstborn."

With this in mind, Newman shares about his piece:

"I've concluded this piece with a faint hint of the wind of change... a major chord in its ending portraying the coming hope of Christ's return, the destruction of Israel's foes, freeing both captive Israel, and the world from the Beast and his empire.

Christ shall rule the world with a rod of iron and as Zechariah 14:9 states:

'And the LORD will be king over all the earth; in that day the LORD will be the only one, and His name the only one.'

I hope this musical reflection helps brings to life these living words found in the book of Zechariah."

Spark Notes

The Artist's Reflection

James Newman is an international media composer, and audio illustrator. James uses his knowledge and love of sound design coupled with his ability to tell stories through his music to take the listener on journeys of aural excellence.

James Newman

About the Artist

James Newman

Other Works By