Musician and native New Yorker Russ Flynn has created a delightfully funky new work in response to the theme of eavesdropping and Ecclesiastes 7:21-25.



Rumor Mill
Composed and performed by Russ Flynn, 2014



Artist Statement:

“Rumor Mill” is like a game of involuntary telephone; a conversation being overheard, perhaps taken out of context, and restated with misinformation/imperfection. There are two main voices, panned left and right, that begin a conversation. Another voice overhears and restates; but imperfectly. The process continues with the addition of two more voices until what remains is a complete adultery of the original statement having little to do with the original source, or conversation. In reading the passage from the scripture I was reminded of the quote from Eleanor Roosevelt that stated, “Great minds discuss ideas; average minds discuss events; small minds discuss people.” That also had influence on my thought process. There are so many hours in a day; those who concern themselves with the business of others will only find their time wasted while those whose business they’ve concerned themselves with have moved on to bigger and better things.

RussFlynnNew York native Russ Flynn is a Brooklyn-based producer, arranger and multi-instrumentalist. Russ tours, both nationally and internationally, in the rock-oriented and improvisation-based music worlds. He is a member of Great Good Fine Ok, Glass Elephant, Alexandra Stewart’s band, Lewis and the Nathan Parker Smith Large Ensemble. He has also had the pleasure of working with such varied artists as Rubblebucket, Elliott Sharp, Natalie York, Sean Lennon, Le Zhang, Bartosz Hadala, Anthony Coleman and Hafiz Shabazz.
In 2010 Russ completed his graduate work at the Aaron Copland School Music where he studied composition with Michael Philip Mossman and Darcy James Argue. Russ has also studied with Alexander Stewart, Ben Allison, John Rivers, Joe Capps and John McKenna, among others.
This work was curated by Aaron Kruziki.

This work is copyrighted by the artist and shown here by permission. If you are interested in this or other work by these artists please Contact Us for assistance.

Spread the word, and consider Donating to help Spark and Echo Arts create new work.


All scripture quotations, unless otherwise indicated, are taken from the Holy Bible, New International Version®, NIV®. Copyright ©1973, 1978, 1984, 2011 by Biblica, Inc.™ Used by permission of Zondervan. All rights reserved worldwide.  The “NIV” and “New International Version” are trademarks registered in the United States Patent and Trademark Office by Biblica, Inc.™

Filed under: EavesdroppingFeaturedMusicNew Works