Here is a composition by Jonathon Roberts for saxophone quartet and voice setting part of Apostle Paul’s second letter to the Corinthians. Depending on what he thought people needed to hear, Paul used many different ways to speak to the people he served: love, discipline, humor, anger… We see in this passage a tender, regretful and sad side of Paul as he alerts the Corinthians of his change of plans.

Reading 2 Corinthians 1-2 gives more background on Paul’s difficult decision and the complexities surrounding it.

Listen Response


Saxophone Quartet: Chris Clouthier, Allison Davis, Mark Determan, Kim Reece
Voice: Jonathon Roberts

This piece was written for vocalist Charlie Christenson
Click Here for a live excerpt from the premiere performance with Charlie in 2004.

2 Corinthians 2:1-4
So I made up my mind that I would not make another painful visit to you. For if I grieve you, who is left to make me glad but you whom I have grieved? I wrote as I did, so that when I came I would not be distressed by those who should have made me rejoice. I had confidence in all of you, that you would all share my joy. For I wrote you out of great distress and anguish of heart and with many tears, not to grieve you but to let you know the depth of my love for you.

Click to see the SCORE for Response

If you would like permission to perform this work or are interested in the full score or saxophone parts please Contact Us.

Image: Evgeni Dinev /

Tagged with:

Filed under: MusicNew Works